Maybe if you’d eat more comfort food…

23 01 2009

Can I just say I feel as if I have never used WordPress before.   When did all these changes happen?   When in the world did I last write a post?   (I’m sure wordpress tells me that information…somewhere) 

As many of you know, the whole quotation is “Maybe if you would eat more comfort food, you wouldn’t need to go around shooting people.”   Hurley’s quote says a lot about why people are overweight.   Before you unsubscribe, hear me out.   I’m fat.  

In my head, I’m very comfortable with my weight, but no mirrors in my house are full length.  I will avoid pictures of my whole self at almost all costs.   I am fat.  

I have been working hard–for over a year–to get my weight down.  So far I’ve lost 55 pounds.  How much weight do I still have?  Well, weight watchers tells me I have between 95 and 105 lbs to loose.   That’s a whole lotta sticks of butter, baby.   I was going to save you the mental math, but, I chickened out  math is good for you.

Back to the quote.  I never really bothered to figure out why I was am overweight.   I never thought about it.  But really, it seems to be that rather than talking about something, I’ll eat.   Rather than solve the problems or do something about what is bothering me, I eat.   It is stuff my face (and those emotions) or shoot someone.  

So why am I talking about this?  Another great question, especially since I have another blog (that I also don’t blog on) devoted to my weightloss journey.   Two weeks ago, I realized I have been gaining and losing the SAME eight pounds for over three months.   I have been faithfully attending weight watchers, weighing in, and not thinking about it till the next Saturday.  

I’m writing it because it is about being accountable.  No, not to YOU.   To me.   I don’t want to be stuck at this current weight–although I don’t remember the last time I’ve been this weight–maybe high school???   I want to be…I’m not sure what I want to be.   I want my daughter and sons not to have weight and food issues.   I want to not start and end my day thinking about the food I would like to eat.   I want to be healthy.  I want to be thin.  I want to finish my meal and not want to eat something else, even though I don’t have room for something else.  I want to figure out what the problem is and how to fix it without food.  

I have to count my points.  I have to write down everything I eat–including the sneak attacks on the peanut butter jar.  I will have to do those things for the rest of my life.   I’m working on the comfort food or shooting people thing.   I won’t be going postal and I won’t be regaining the 55 pounds I’ve lost.   I’m working on using food for what it is for, supplying my body with energy to think, move, laugh, and enjoy life.  

I’m fat, but I am NOT staying that way.

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 01 2009
Mandy

You are awesome. You have done so great with your first 55 and you look great. I’m rooting for you.

24 01 2009
Punkinhead

Wow! That’s great! And, it’s inspiring me. I have been gaining and losing the same 18 lbs for years now! Keep up the good work!

24 01 2009
carpoolknitter

I know you can accomplish your goal. 55 lbs is amazing! I’m on your cheer squad too.

25 01 2009
Michelle at Scribbit

Your attitude is amazing–you’ll get it done with that kind of determination. Good luck!

25 01 2009
betseydoodle

You can do it! If you can do the first 55, the rest is possible.

Chalk up any doldrums to Winter ennui, and move on. Try to get some sunshine on the face. It will honestly make everything seem so much brighter and positive.

12 12 2009
caulsoliniunk

I’m always looking for recent blogposts in the internet about this matter. Thankz!!

Leave a Reply

