Finally finished objects!

6 08 2008

Despite the serious lack of knitting content (ok, any content), I have been knitting and even finishing things.

First up:

 Pattern:  Beech Wood by Ilga Leja. 

Yarn:  Cascade 220 hand-dyed (by ME!!!).   I did the last Saturday in July with Anne & Denise.  Anne is a master color dyer (don’t listen to her when she protests!).   She had faith in this yarn even when I didn’t, which was pretty much the whole entire process.  

Needles:  US 6 Circs

Thoughts:  Cowls are fun to knit.   Round and round we go.   The cascade won’t be too soft, but I didn’t really think about that until this was 90% finished.  

Second: 

Pattern:   Fake Isle by Spunky Electric

Needles:US 6 Circsand dpns

Yarn:  Cascade 220 in pink and Noro (gray/green) Kueryon

Thoughts:   This is a gift for a friend moving to Michigan.  I have a feeling it is too small.  My gauge is a little small.  If you have a teenager with pink fiber obsession or a small head, I’d be willing to send this your way….   

Third: 

Pattern:CravenDISH by Cindy Colbert

Needles: US 8

Yarn: Sugar & Creme in yellow

Thoughts:What a great pattern.  Fast easy to knit when you follow the directions (which I forget sometimes).   It is great for scrubbing.  I’m thinking of modifying it to fit my Swiffer. 

Fourth:

Pattern:Market Bags.  I’m too lazy to link them all, but I finished up the 1Bag (1st pic), Bagstopper (2nd pic) and Mineco (not pictured).    

Needles:  US 5, 6, 8, & 13 Straights and Circs.

Yarn: Mainly dishcloth cotton. 

Thoughts:   I need about 3 more bags to make a full 2 week grocery shop fit with all knitted bags.  Right now I have 3 I have knit and 1 I purchased.   Harris Teeter does a great job with packing the bags.  Walmart makes you pack them yourself–at least the cashier I had made me do it.   Boo to Wallyworld.   No matter which pattern I choose for the remaining bags, I will use a canvas handle and not knit them.   Those knit handles stretch out way too much!  

Fifth:

Pattern:EZ Norwegian Mittens & Hello Yarn Norwegian Mitten Chart hybrid

Yarn:Cascade Dolce.  Buttercream & Teal.  Love, love, love this yarn.   B’day yarn and if the Common Threads hadn’t done a reorg, I never would have found it.   Soft, squishy alpaca, silk, wool goodness.  

Needles:US 5 dpns

Thoughts:  I have new respect for designers.  Tough work.   $5.00 doesn’t begin to cover the time it took to create the chart for these mittens.  The worst part is, I felt like I was redoing something that someone else has probably already done…. Oh well.   I do have the Norwegian/Selbu mitten bug…stay tuned for more mittens.  

Doesn’t seem like much knitting for one summer, but there are still 20 days left until school starts.

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 08 2008
Kristina

wow, you have been busy! That is some awesome knitting. I love, love, love the mittens.

6 08 2008
Anne

You are too kind! and yeah, I knew all along it would knit up really pretty like that.

I think your design triumph is WOW, and yes it is yours and it is a triumph.

7 08 2008
jewlbal3

LOVE your colorway of the cowl — very nice!

FFOs — finally finished objects! LOL — I like that! I definitely have those projects that when they are finished, all I can think of is . . .

Finally!!

9 08 2008
jessie

It actually seems like a lot of knitting to me! Love the mittens.

Leave a Reply

