Baby Kimono Wrap & Hat

2 04 2008

After sitting on beside my knitting spot for almost a month, the MDK Baby Kimono is finished.   The child is now well over 2 months old and there is no way it will fit.   Sunshine Husband took it to work today to give to said child’s father.   The hat will fit.  Small consolation.   I should have knit another Feb. sweater.  Oh well. 

img_0006.jpg

Pattern:  MDK Baby Kimono & Simply Baby Hat

Yarn: Bernat Denim.  I really liked knitting with this yarn.  Comfy stuff.   The look grew on me. 

Needles: US 7 for the Kimono and US 8 for the hat.  

Thoughts:  Love, love, love this hat pattern.   The little stubby umbilical on top is too cute (IMHO).  The kimono pattern was good.  If I make it again, I will make it longer and the sleeves seem a little tight to me.   Hopefully, she doesn’t have chubbo wrists.  I would also put a ribbon tie on the inside.  I should have done this, but I was sick of sewing the ribbon. 

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 04 2008
carpoolknitter

Even if she doesn’t wear it, her mama will treasure it. I would.

7 07 2008
Dr Karen Hoving

Hi
OK, this is a stupid question.I just started the baby kimono – in mercerized cotton (which has nothing to do with my question). After you knit the first 4″ – they tell you to add on 3 stitches in the BEGINNING of each row…I must be having a “moment” bc I can’t for the life of me figure out how to do this!
Also – have you tried making the kimono larger – they suggest it, but don’t tell you how much larger to make it – thoughts?
Karen

Leave a Reply

