Dressed up and no place to go!

25 03 2008

I finished my Easter dress just in time for Easter (unlike the last time I was planning on sewing a dress…let’s not talk about that, ok?).  

Here is the Easter dress, freshly home from its debut at mass Sunday morning.   Sunshine son #2 took the picture, which explains the loss of hubby’s head (thank goodness he doesn’t have any hair up there anyway!).

dscf0272-1.jpg

Pattern:  McCall’s 5579 Version C sleeves & bodice with Version A hemline

Fabric: Hobby Lobby brand 100% cotton (totally not what the pattern called for)

Thoughts:

  1. Can I tell you how depressing it is to make the size I made?   I don’t buy this size in the store, but apparently, pattern makers don’t give a whit about my vanity.   It certainly is a wake up call to know I am not the size Kohl’s has led me to believe.   I guess that is a rant discussion topic for another day.
  2. McCall’s patterns truely do suck.  I don’t really appreciate McCall’s patterns.   Who writes these directions?  If the directions are clear, the diagrams are not.   Thankfully, only once, did the written directions and the diagrams not make sense at the same time.   I followed the directions, but let’s just say it took a few tries to understand them and move onto the next step.
  3. My sister-in-law told hubby she like my dress.   I’m not sure what that says about the dress, my taste, her taste or any combination.   I guess I’ll just take it as the compliment she meant it to be. 
  4. Overall, I like the dress.   I won’t use the pattern again, but it was a learning experience.   Hopefully the dress gets more wearing time than just the 45 minutes for church every few Sundays. 

Things I’ve learned:

  1. Installing a zipper.  Yeah!!!! What power. 
  2. Slipstitching?  I’m not into that. 
  3. Patience and doing things right actually make a difference. 
  4. I’m sure there is more, but I didn’t write them down. 

Stay tuned for some knitting FO’s.   I do have a couple.    Ravelry has been sucking all my time.   I’ve been surfing people, projects, groups, favorites, etc.   Death to blogging (at least mine). 

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 03 2008
Kristin

Amazing job!!!! I really love how it turned out!! 🙂

25 03 2008
Punkinhead

I like the dress! I can’t sew to save my life. I bought a machine and a few patterns and have some material. It’s still in the bag…! It is my New Year’s Resolution this year!

27 03 2008
Violet

The dress is adorable! I think I might have that pattern. And I completely agree with you about both the sizing (I’m DOUBLE my “store size” in sewing patterns. That’s not a good feeling!) and McCall’s directions. A lot of their patterns are very cute though, so it’s hard to not be tempted!

28 03 2008
Diane

I like your dress! It turned out nice, love the fabric too. Great job! I’m sure you’ll get a lot of wear out of it. I hate pattern sizing too, it’s totally out of whack with the store sizes. I just don’t care anymore, as long as it fits.

28 03 2008
sarah

The pattern sizes can be upsetting. I think there has been a great deal of deflation in commercial garmets and that the pattern sizing industry has stayed the same. I know that I wear the same pattern size as the tags on my vintage dresses. But hey! you can ignore the number and at least you know what those abstract numbers mean! I hate shopping and having to bring in multiple sizes because different brands sizes don’t line up.

28 03 2008
Anne

My word, woman, look at you sew! Zippers? Next you’ll be tackling lingerie and slipcovers and tailored suits and who knows what-all. I knew you were a multi-talented woman all along.

28 03 2008
Mandy

Wow!!! Your dress is beautiful and the pic of you and the husband is so cute. You got the fit just right, and the shape of the dress is perfect!! You rock.

Leave a Reply

