Baby love, my baby love.

3 02 2008

I have been knee deep in baby knitting during the past two weeks.   My cousin is having a baby and this one is (for a change) a boy!  Hip-hip-hooray!   Baby boy F. is “scheduled” to be in utero for a few more weeks, but his knitting is done and will be making its way to Massachusetts for his mommy’s baby shower.  

img_1216.jpg

img_1219.jpg

Pattern: Elefante

Yarn: Cascade 220 scraps in red, orange, liliac, grey, light blue, and navy.

Needles: US 4 dpns

Thoughts:  This is Eli.  What an awesome knit.   My only modifications were the ears.    I don’t crochet (I don’t know how) and although I could have fidged it, it didn’t seem right.  I used the elephant ears from Last Minute Knitted Gifts and then totally changed them to garter and reduced their size and how they decreased.   There are cuter elefante ears out there, but I’m ok with that.     I hope my coz will forgive the use of a non-masculine color (read: light purple), but it was better than hot pink.  

img_1221.jpg

Pattern: Baby Yoda Sweater

Yarn: Moda Dea Washable Wool in lake blue

Needles: US 8 dpn and circulars (go seamless!)

Thoughts: This worked seemless was awesome.   Next time, I’ll figure out how to pick up the sleeves though.   They seem a bit bulky to me.   I did I-cord for the first time.  WOW, what an awesome little trick that is.  Love, love, love it!   Need some I-cord?  I might have some extra around here….

img_1215.jpg

Pattern: Saarjte’s Booties.

Yarn: Moda Dea Washable Wool in lake blue. 

Needles: US 2 dpns

Thoughts: These booties are actually three of a kind.  Bootie #1 and #2 were not the same size.  I lost track of my row count and that does make a bootie bigger.   Bootie #3 was the correct same size as #1.   These booties are too cute for words.    What is that noise you ask?   It is my ovaries asking for the road to baby-ville.  

img_1220.jpg

Pattern: Sweet & Simple Baby Hat

Yarn: Oh, you know…

Needles: US 8 dpns

Thoughts:  Could my hat problem be fixed?  I hope, though the hat seems  a bit large for a baby’s head.   Simple, quick and, hello, I-cord!   Just as the name implies, sweet & simple!  

I hope she likes these.  She is a non-knitter and I just don’t know.   They have AMAZING oooh and ahhhhh value and I am counting on that with a house full of girls, someone will dress the child in the booties at least (please God, let him get his mother’s small feet!).  

Actions

Information

6 responses

3 02 2008
Mandy

Are those football buttons? Cute! And that elephant is totally awesome.

6 02 2008
weezalana

Lookit all the cute knits! That’s one lucky baby-to-be!

6 02 2008
leslie

OMG that elephant is too cute! Everything looks so wonderful.

8 02 2008
carpoolknitter

Your coz is a very lucky mama. Eli is adorable, completely. Baby is all fitted out in style.

21 02 2008
allysha

that elephant is absolutely adorable!

4 03 2008
carpoolknitter

PS I meme tagged you. Check my blog. Do I need to apologize or duck now?

Leave a Reply

