Christmas Meme

5 12 2006

2006 Christmas Edition of Getting to Know Your Friends

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? Egg Nog, most definately.  Even w/o the rum, but better with rum! 

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? Santa most definately wraps presents, though during the wee hours of Christmas morn, I wish he didn’t! 

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?  White lights on house and tree.  Colored lights are fine, but to mix is a faux paux.

4. Do you hang mistletoe? nope. 

5. When do you put your decorations up? Before the kids it was the weekend after Thanksgiving.  After kids it is later in the month.  I gauge it by how often I think I will have to chase them out of the tree or away from the knick knacks.   This year, it will be after Sunshine sis’s b-day, though the lights and some inside decorations are up.   No tree till after the birthday girl has her day. 

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?  I think squash.  Boring, but yummy.   Oh I am sure there is something else, but nothing comes to mind right now.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child: Going to midnight mass and having the presents there when we returned.   They weren’t there and then they were.   I don’t remember waiting around for my dad or mom to come to the car…it was magic.   After all the “loot” was open, we had an awesome breakfast with eggs and bacon.  Usually we were cereal eaters, so a fancy breakfast was tons of fun, especially at 3 in the morning! 

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I don’t remember.  Hmmm, I’ll have to think about that one. 

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?  We open one gift from family members on Christmas eve.  This is done AFTER mass. 

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree?  I do all the prepping of the tree–warming branches, lights, etc–and then the kids can help with the non-fragile ornaments. 

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it?  Love it, but only if I am not going anywhere. 

12. Can you ice skate?  No. 

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?  I got a stereo one year–double cassette player, radio, and turntable–and it was a total surprise.   My father told me it was a gift for my mother, boy what a sucker I was!  🙂

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?  Slowing down and spending time getting ready to really appreciate Jesus’ birth.   I think about Mary and the amazing woman/mother/wife she was.    

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert? I love pecan pie.  

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?  Sunshine Daddy reading “Twas the Night Before Christmas” to the kids, going out for Chinese for Christmas Eve dinner (after the children’s Mass), and driving around to look at the neighborhood Christmas lights. 

17. What tops your tree? Moravian star (mini-size)

18. Which do you prefer giving or Receiving?  Finding that perfect gift. 

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song?  O Come Emmanuel.

20. Candy Canes… yuck or yum?  YUMMMMM.   Even stale ones are good.  They must be the traditional flavors though, no bubble gum or tropical punch. 

Thanks to Yarnsticks for the meme.   I am tagging anyone that reads (psst that’s you!).  

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

