Not my true country

27 07 2010

Just last evening, DH and I heard some heart-wrenching news.   An old and very dear friend took his own life.   After first hearing the news last night, I felt sort of numb and untouched by it all.  DH was hit harder and shed tears over the sudden and tragic loss of his dear friend.  Twenty-four hours after receiving the news of his death, I am still in shock.  I’ve wandered around the house today not really knowing what to do or even what I wanted to do.

I met Nick over 12 years ago.  Before we were married, DH and I traveled to his alma mater and went to his fraternity/college reunion weekend.   I met a lot of his brothers.  I was welcomed by every single one.  Welcomed even though most of them hadn’t seen DH in 5 years and never met me before.    The group of brothers, led by Nick and DH, serenaded me at their farewell picnic.

Nick was soft-spoken yet unafraid to voice his opinion.  He was willing to listen to your troubles and lend his ear, his heart, and whatever other resources you might need.  He is much loved and will be well and surely missed.   A t-shirt with jeans, help you move in exchange for some beer, all-around, fantastic kind of guy.  My husband will miss him more than I can really explain.  They were brothers by choice.

Based on the way Nick and all the Promethean brothers welcomed me into their family, I know Nick’s wife and daughter will be wrapped in love.    Each brother who knew or met Nick and those that didn’t will adopt Kim and Shannon and give them love, caring, and whatever is needed.   All grief is different and I cannot fathom their grief.  I do know the brothers of Prometheus will be the salve to begin the healing.

I hope and pray you are at peace.  Smile and be sure to check in on us every once in a while.   I’ll miss you!

Mary, Jamie, & Nick

Mary, Jamie, Nick

“Do not weep for me,
This is not my true country, I have lived banished from my true country—I now go back there,
I return to the celestial sphere where every one goes in his turn.”

–Walt Whitman

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 07 2010
Mandy

So sorry to hear this. Big hug to you and Ken.

27 07 2010
Kristina

So sorry for the pain and loss you are feeling. Nick was also a good friend of my sister-in-law and brother-in-law. They all went to college together. A very sad day. :(

28 07 2010
Terence

I have questions about this post, but I would prefer to contact you privately about them. Trying to figure out how.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

