Felted slippers…heaven on your feet!

2 04 2010

About two months ago I lamented to the Splintered Knitters that my slippers were in sad shape.  They were starting to fiber apart and develop holes all over. 

“Just knit new ones.”

Mandy said it, Cindy said it, and I think Denise just knit and nodded.  I didn’t want to and said so.  It was a little irrational. I’m sure they thought I was being stubborn and silly.  In a way, I’m sure I was.  Sometimes though you just can’t help how you feel!   These slippers were my first felted project and one of my first completed knitted projects in general.  It wouldn’t be hard to knit another pair, just hard to knit a replacement pair. 

The stars aligned themselves (read:  my mother slipped me some secret spending money on her last visit…THANK YOU MOM!!) and I finally realized that it was time to knit another pair. 

  

As you can see, the slippers had seen better days.   My feet had stopped saying, ahhhhhh, when I slipped into them.   There were holes all over. 

After a trip to Common Threads and a 30 minute internal debate about the color of the slippers, I headed home to cast on: Felted Clogs from Fiber Trends and Bev Galakas.  (Bev, you are a genius!).

They didn’t take long and viola! I have a brand new, little slice of heaven for your feet! 

My color debate resulted in a heathered color called brick (Cascade 220) and a four-tone called charcoal (Quatro 220).  As I knit them, I wasn’t sure if I would like the finished product, but it turns out, I love the combination.   The Quatro felted into a beautiful rich brown color.  Perfect and much more beautiful than I could have hoped for as I was knitting them. 

All in all, great yarn, great pattern, and wonderful finished product.  As usual, Mandy was right and I find myself wondering why I didn’t knit them sooner!!  If you don’t have a pair of these slippers, wait are you waiting for?  You won’t regret it.

The only question is, what do I do with me old pair?  It feels a little wrong to just throw them away….

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 04 2010
Kristina

Yay! I love the colors. I love how the quattro colors felt.

2 04 2010
Mandy

Yay! Nice slippers. I have holes in mine and need to knit another pair.

3 04 2010
Mandy

I totally did not mean to say “yay” just like Kristina. I’m lame. Also, I voted twice for “pitch ‘em”, thereby skewing the voting. Sorry bout that. Watch out, because I might do it again.

30 03 2014
Rob Thomson

If you get a felting needle and some wool you can fix your slippers in a short time just pricking away at the new wool until it is incorporated into your old slipper. I just fixed some huge holes on the bottom of my own favorite felted slippers.

Rob

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

